Pathetic fallacy on Koh Phangan

Pathetic fallacy is a term I learnt during A-level English. It means the attribution of human emotions or characteristics to inanimate objects or nature; for example, angry clouds; a cruel wind. It’s often used in literature to reflect the mood of the unfolding events, and yesterday it seemed that Koh Phangan was setting itself up to be pathetically fallacised (I’m pretty sure I just made up that phrase). I was feeling rather sad to be leaving just when I was becoming so settled, and the weather responded with endless sombre rain and a grey, morose sky that Blighty would be proud of.

Not only that, I’d rather unfortunately mis-timed my ferry back to the mainland to be on the day after the Full Moon Party. Thus the pathos stretched to the languishing and anguishing hung-over masses that surrounded me. Bodies lay prone on any available surface, making the ferry look like the aftermath of a mighty battle waged (and lost) against excess. The neon colours of the FMP uniform were at great odds with the ennui that pervaded the crowd, except in the odd case where an indefatigable raver still partied on, to the amusement/bemusement of those around them.

Still raving, despite backpack – respect…

The day became an exercise in tolerance – of over-crowded public transport, sweaty heat, cigarette smoke, the scent of stale lager in the air and, finally, of having my rucksack majorly rifled through by unseen hands whilst it was in storage on the bus journey from the ferry to the station. I haven’t had the chance to do a full audit yet but, on a first glance, apart from irritations such as turning everything upside down, crumpling my new certificates and removing the protective padding around my new buddhas, nothing obvious seems to be missing, but we’ll see (luckily all my important stuff was with in my day-rucksack). I’d heard this was a problem on buses but my usual vigilance with using padlocks has lapsed rather during the latter stages of my travels, as trust had begun to surface its naive head – oh well, hopefully my bag being ransacked will have saved another, more valuable-laden one, from having the same treatment.

Pathetic fallacy – hung-over puddles.

One other noteworthy event today was the bizarre experience of being made to wait in the middle of the railway tracks whilst the national anthem played. It is played once a day and everyone must stand up and be still, in respect for the king. This is clearly taken very seriously – I assumed I’d be allowed to cross to the safety of the platform before being still but, no: a man in uniform shouted at me to stay still right in the middle (thais don’t seem to bother with footbridges to reach platforms on the other side of the tracks). Unfortunately any respectful thoughts for the royal family were then subsumed by fears of being mowed down by an oncoming train!

After an overnight train journey into Bangkok, I’m now back at Alisa and Landry’s house to pick up some stuff they stored for me and to kill a few hours here as my flight back to the UK doesn’t leave until midnight. Objectives for the day include sourcing one final tasty thai meal, having one final thai massage, and checking out a famous yoga studio here – should keep me busy. But first, nap-time beckons…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pathetic fallacy on Koh Phangan

  1. Abi says:

    Safe journey home Becky! We miss you here, Isaac asked when you were coming back again a few days ago. I’m particularly impressed with the first paragraph of this post, in particularly the use of ‘ennui’ and ‘indefatigable’. I could use some of your wordy inspiration today as I battle with a particularly stubborn paragraph in an article.

    Look after yourself, enjoy Susie’s wedding – I hope her and Richard have an amazing day – and enjoy being with your family again. Hope to see you out here again before too long.

    Love ya!
    Abi xxxx

  2. Nadine says:

    So sad to read it’s the end of your adventures that you so beautifully and dutifully shared! But great to welcome you back again!

    Have a good journey back (and don’t forget the deodorant this time!!! :)).

    Love
    N&B

  3. Jo Sefton says:

    Really enjoyed your blog and the photos – it sounds like you’ve had some amazing experiences. Hope to catch up when you’re back over here and hear more about it. Safe journey!
    Jo Sefton

  4. ambulavitz says:

    Becky. Thanks very much for all the amazing blogging of your adventures. It’s been a real privilege to be able to accompany you on your so eloquently painted experiences. I don’t suppose you’d consider keeping it going when you get home – surely it’s become habitual. Anyway have a good journey back and wrap up warm, the weather is somewhat unsettled to say the least. x

  5. Pru says:

    Becky-boo- can’t wait to see you my love! have a safe trip home and can’t wait to hear all about your adventures in person! xxxx

  6. Marcie says:

    Safe journey Becky! Looking forward to seeing you very soon once I am back from my Lithuanian work related travels and you have unpacked/peeled etc. xxxx

  7. beckymayhem says:

    Aaaaw, thanks for all your lovely messages, guys – very happy to have entertained you in some small way over the last few months… 🙂 Really looking forward to seeing you all soon (except you, Abi – sad to be leaving you behind…). See you sooooooon!! xx

  8. Jen says:

    Here here! Whilst I am really excited to see you again and hear all about your adventures I feel a little sad that “our” (the collective) journey has come to an end – it’s nice to see that I’m not the only one who had been so enjoying travelling along with you. I’ll give you a call over the weekend!!! Lots of love, Jen

Leave a Reply

