More than a pretty buddha face

I appear to be suffering from blog-runs (kind of like verbal diarrhoea) so, to continue with the theme of yesterday’s blog (i.e. the randomness or otherwise of my current selection of belongings), the photo below illustrates the primary ornamentation in my room at present.

I guess I need my ornaments to work for me at the moment, and these three items inspire me in their different ways. The rabbit card has the tag-line ‘I love nature’ at the bottom, which sums me up in many ways, and reminds me of the simple, good stuff in life. The Buddha head brings back happy memories of Thailand and inspires me to be more zen. The Goethe phrase is one that I have had displayed in a prominent position for many years now (often on my desk at work), and it has had a huge impact on my life. In case you can’t read it, it says:

“Whatever you can do, or dream you can do, begin it! Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.”

I partially credit it with giving me courage to change from a successful publishing career to starting at the bottom of the ladder in the environmental sector back in 2006. It is currently inspiring me to go forth and contemplate yet another significant pay-cut by trying to make a success of yoga teaching and writing alongside ecology. Damn you, Goethe – my hair really needs an expensive cut right now.

The only other decorative items in the room are a wall-hanging brought back from India in 2001 (I gave identical ones in different colours to each of my three sisters and, as far as I know, they have always hung somewhere in all four of our houses since then, forming a textile-based link between us no matter where we call home), a collage that my niece gave me when I left my sister’s house and a dog-eared photo of my family, taken as a memento for my travels on the day before I left. Guess it’s pretty obvious what another very important thing in my life is, then…

And finally, I have to share my niece’s collage (of a cross-dressing Elvis character called Percy, wearing a nightie?!) – an uplifting example of the creative abandon of youth. It makes me smile a lot… 🙂

This entry was posted in Nomadic lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More than a pretty buddha face

  1. Gary says:

    That’s the trouble with me though, that I do begin a lot of things… finishing them is another matter. Have you got any inspirational quotes on how to finish things?

Leave a Reply

