A misty morning

Believe it or not, but I am about to head off for another week’s holiday, this time in the Lake District. My aunt and uncle inherited a cottage on the seafront in a village called Ravenglass on the west coast, so I am off there tomorrow to hunker down in front of an open fire and do lots of writing, yoga, thinking, meditating, plus many walks across mountains and fells. I CAN’T WAIT! (Caveat: I realise that my romantic image may not live up to the reality, especially as my fire-lighting skills are rusty to say the least, and the first thing I have been instructed to do when I arrive is remove the storm barrier from the front door and check that the roof leak hasn’t worsened – eek.)

Anyway, I’m sure it’ll be fine. I lived in the Lake District for around five years, so I am anticipating lots of nostalgia-fuelled sighing as I take in familiar views from summits. I’ll be seeing lots old friends, partaking in Ulverston’s Dickensian festival and no doubt enjoying more than one sticky toffee pudding. The forecast is for rain – did I expect anything else?

I doubt the cottage has wireless – I think I’ll be lucky if it has electricity by the sounds of it, so tales of my week will follow when I rejoin civilisation. However, for now I wanted to share some lovely photos of today’s beautiful misty morning. I stopped off at my parents’ house last night to break up the journey, and woke up ridiculously early this morning, so decided to go out for a walk with Zen Ben the dog. As we crunched our way through frosty grass and frozen cow-pats, an eerie mist flowed across the land, as it often does in this river valley. The cool blue mist contrasted with vibrant oranges and yellows, picked out by the mellow morning sun. Totally stunning.

By the time I reached home, the mist had cleared, and the sky had the kind of startling clarity that you only get in winter. My walk certainly has put me in a great frame of mind for my holiday. Plus, I have just cobbled together the first draft of my new yoga website (I’m using Moonfruit), which is most exciting indeed… All in all a good day. 🙂

This entry was posted in English countryside, Meditation, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

