The nights are drawing in…

That’s it. It’s all downhill from here. We’ve had the longest day of summer, nights will be getting shorter and the next big thing on the calendar is Christmas, *sigh*…

That’s what I would have said, had I got out of bed on the wrong side and hence spent my day as my gloomy alterego, who I like to call ‘beckywoebum’. However, I very much bounded out of bed on the right side this morning and, as such, my thoughts on the solstice are very much in the beckymayhem camp, as follows:

My, what a beautiful evening it was last night – perfectly fitting for such an auspicious occasion, part of which I spent doing a Thai massage. This felt symbolic in some way – a sign that the powers that be approve of my new career path. The solstice indicates we’re in the height of summer, with festivals, surf weekends, camping trips, evening walks, barbecues and lots more outdoorsy fun to look forward to. Plus, earlier sunsets and later sunrises means the timings of my bat surveys will gradually become less antisocial…:) As with everything, we have a choice whether to see something in a positive or negative light. We can’t alter what’s happening, but we can alter our attitude towards it.

Today I am attending a Hamish Hendry intensive ashtanga yoga workshop, which includes Mysore self-practice in the morning and a two hour talk in the afternoon. It’s conveniently at the Stonemonkey yoga studio across the road, hence how I’m still tapping away a mere 15 minutes from the starting time – I love my life. No doubt I shall be delivering my musings on this in a later post, or possibly on my frond yoga facebook page. Get me with my self-promotion – I recently attended a talk on online marketing, you see, and have realised that, fun though teaching yoga and doing massages is, if I want to be able to pay my rent each month from it, I really need to get my arse into gear and start ‘putting myself out there’ more; in fact, here’s a link to my website: www.frondyoga.moonfruit.com – please spread the word… 😉

Then, straight after the workshop I’m off camping in the Peak District. The weather forecast is atrocious, but beckywoebum is nowhere to be seen, so I am still nevertheless hugely excited about the prospect of falling asleep to the soothing sound of pattering rain on canvas and striding out across boggy fells tomorrow, goretex rustling as I go. Summer rocks, even Britain’s lame excuse for one!

Anyway, better dash – yet again I fear I may be the last one at class, despite only having to cross the road to get there, oops…

This entry was posted in Ecology, English countryside, Positivity, Self-employment, Stonemonkey studio, Surfing, Thai massage, Travel, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The nights are drawing in…

  1. Isobel says:

    Schönes Wochenende Beckyboo, was fab to catch up last night and CANNOT WAIT to be back in the Uk and catch up properly! xxx

  2. beckymayhem says:

    Likewise, Isobel – can’t wait to see you soooooon! xxx

  3. Pingback: Letting go with Hamish Hendry | beckymayhem

Leave a Reply

